HomeLinksContact UsMembers
Go to Toastmasters International website
Supreme TD Toastmasters Club 
  |  
About Us  |  Club Goals  |  Education  |  Events  |  Meeting Schedule  |  Download  |  FAQ
  |  
Meeting Schedule by Role

Current Schedule
Current
Schedule

Member Achievements
Member
Achievements


Role:
General Evaluator
The General Evaluator is just what the name implies. He or she is an evaluator of anything and everything that takes place throughout the meeting. The responsibility is large, but so are the rewards. The General Evaluator is responsible to the Toastmaster who will introduce you. At the conclusion of the evaluation segment of of the meeting, you will return control to him or her. You are responsible of the evaluation team. the usual procedure is to have one evaluator for each major speaker, but this is not necessary. You are free to setup any procedure you wish, but each evaluation should be brief, yet complete. Methods for conducting the evaluation sessions are limitless. Review the Effective Speech Evaluation manual for ideas.

Prior to the meeting
Check with the Toastmaster to find out how the program will be conducted and if there are any planned deviations from the usual meeting format. Remember, always be ready when the meeting starts.

Call all of the evaluators to brief them on their job and to inform them. whom they're evaluating and what evaluation formats you will be using. Suggest each evaluator call his or her speaker to talk over any special evaluation requirements suggested in the manual for the speech.

During the briefing, emphasize that evaluation is a positive, helping act. As conscientious Toastmasters, their goal must be to help fellow Toastmasters to develop their skills. Emphasize that in the act of evaluating, the self-esteem of the speaker should be preserved or al: least enhanced.

Call the remaining members of the evaluation team (timer, grammarian, ah counter, Table Topics evaluator, as appropriate) to remind them of their assignments.

Prepare a brief but thorough talk on the purpose, techniques, and benefits of evaluation (for the benefit of the guests). Emphasize that as evaluators, you are not critics. Criticism is negative; evaluation is a positive experience designed to help people overcome weak habits and add power to good ones.

Upon arrival at the meeting
Insure the individual evaluators have the speaker's manual and understand the project objectives and how to evaluate it.

Greet all evaluators who are present. If an evaluator is not present, consult with the Vice President Education and arrange for a substitute. Verify each speaker's time and notify the timer.

Sit near the back of the room to allow yourself full view of the meeting and its participants.

During the meeting
Take notes on everything that happens (or doesn't but should). For example: Is the club's property (trophies, banner, educational material, etc.) properly displayed'? If not, why? Were there unnecessary distractions that could have been avoided? Create a checklist from which you can follow the meeting. Did the meeting, and each segment of it, begin and end on time? Cover each participant on the program-from the opening to the last report by the timer. Look for good and unacceptable examples of preparation, organization, delivery, enthusiasm, observation, and general performance of duties. Remember that you are not to reevaluate the speakers, though you may wish to add something that the evaluator may have missed. Prior to the Table Topics, you will be asked to stand and brief the audience on your team's means and methods of evaluation. Precisely describe what way, and how your team will handle the function.

Identify the grammarian, ah counter, and timer. Have these evaluation team members briefly state the purpose of their jobs.

Request the Word of the Day from the grammarian, if your club has a Word of the Day.

When introduced to conduct the evaluation phase of the meeting, go to the [lectern and introduce each evaluator. After each recitation, thank the evaluator for his or her efforts.

If the Toastmaster has failed to call for the timer's report and vote for Best Speaker (if your club has this award), you do it before individual evaluations are given.

Wrap up by giving your general evaluation of the meeting, using the notes you took as suggested above. You may wish to comment on the quality of evaluations. Were they positive, upbeat, helpful? Did they point the way -to improvement?

Resources
Effective Speech Evaluation (Code 202) ... included in new member kit
Chairman (200)
DateName
Thu, Jul 09, 20Sarah S
Thu, Jul 16, 20Soula P
Thu, Jul 23, 20Gabriela Z
Thu, Jul 30, 20Nayomi J
Thu, Aug 06, 20Sheldon B
Thu, Aug 13, 20Sheldon B
Thu, Aug 20, 20Sheldon B
Thu, Aug 27, 20Dasong Z
Thu, Sep 03, 20Gabriela Z
Thu, Sep 10, 20Cathy H
Thu, Sep 17, 20Nayomi J
Thu, Sep 24, 20Dasong Z
Thu, Oct 01, 20Sheldon B
Thu, Oct 08, 20Gabriela Z
Thu, Oct 15, 20Tracy D
Thu, Oct 22, 20John Y
Thu, Oct 29, 20Andrew H
Thu, Nov 05, 20Cathy H
Thu, Nov 12, 20Andrew H
Thu, Nov 19, 20Gabriela Z
Thu, Nov 26, 20Sheldon B
Thu, Dec 03, 20[Open]
Thu, Dec 10, 20Anton C
Thu, Dec 17, 20Peter L
Thu, Jan 07, 21Johanna L
Thu, Jan 14, 21John Y
Thu, Jan 21, 21Andrew H
Thu, Jan 28, 21Dasong Z
Thu, Feb 04, 21Elissa M
Thu, Feb 11, 21Soula P
Thu, Feb 18, 21Darren S
Thu, Feb 25, 21Elham S
Thu, Mar 04, 21[Open]
Thu, Mar 11, 21[Open]
Thu, Mar 18, 21[Open]
Thu, Mar 25, 21[Open]
Thu, Apr 01, 21[Open]
Thu, Apr 08, 21[Open]
Thu, Apr 15, 21[Open]
Thu, Apr 22, 21[Open]
Powered by FlashyNova Toastmasters Edition